The Law Offices of Chaikin and Sherman, P.C.
Toll Free -
Phone - 202.659.8600
Fax - 202.659.8680
Maryland Car Accident Law
Washington, DC, Maryland & Virginia
Car accident law varies from state to state. As a Maryland resident, you should be familiar with the specific laws that govern driving, car accident liability, and insurance requirements in the event of a collision. Below, we have summarized some of the key areas where Maryland car accident law differs from other states.
Maryland Car Insurance Requirements
The state of Maryland requires every driver to carry a minimum bodily injury coverage of:
- $30,000 per individual
- $60,000 per accident
Meanwhile, drivers are also required to carry at least $15,000 coverage for property damage per accident. Finally, Maryland requires that drivers have uninsured motorist coverage and PIP (Personal Injury Protection) coverage unless a waiver is signed. Uninsured motorist coverage protects you when you are involved in an accident with another driver who is not insured. PIP coverage is designed to cover your own medical expenses and lost income – no matter who was at fault for the accident.
Contributory Negligence in Maryland
Maryland is a pure contributory negligence state. This means that you can only recover damages for your injuries if you did not contribute to the car accident in any way. For example, even if it is determined that you were only 5% at fault for a car accident, you would recover nothing. This stands in contrast to other states, where you can recover compensation for your losses even if you are partially to blame for the accident.
Because Maryland abides by the strict rule of pure contributory negligence, it is all the more important that you consult with an experienced Maryland car accident attorney who has the skill and resources to prove that you did not contribute to your car accident in any way.
Maryland’s Statute of Limitations
In the state of Maryland, you will generally have three years from the date of your car accident to file a personal injury claim.
Joint and Several Liability in Maryland
Maryland adheres to a system of joint and several liability, meaning if two or more people are held liable for the same monetary amount, they can either be held jointly liable or severally liable. The difference between the two is as follows:
- In joint liability, both parties are liable for the full obligated amount. If one person dies, disappears, or declares bankruptcy, the other party will be fully liable for the amount in question.
- In several liability, each party is only liable for their respective obligation, not the full amount.
If you would like more information about Maryland driving and car accident law, consult the Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles. If you have been seriously injured in a Maryland car accident, please contact our experienced Maryland car accident lawyers today to schedule a free consultation. We can help you pursue the compensation you deserve.